MINUTES CLASS AGM November 9, 2019 – Toronto

The meeting was called to order by President, Dr. Patricia Berbari. In attendance: Dr. Alain Dansereau, Dr. Claudio Delorenzi, Dr. Ken Dolynchuk, Dr. Madelaine Gagnon, Dr. Suzanne Gagnon, Dr. Martie Gidon, Dr. Mark Lupin, Dr. Lisa Kellett, Dr. Ron Lemckert, Dr Mathew Mosher, Dr. Rob Miller, Dr. Marie-Christine Roy, Dr. Sheetal Sapra, Dr. Laura Schiffer, Dr. Genevieve Therien, Dr. Michael Weinberg. Proxies received from Dr. Antoniak (vote with President) and Dr. Julia Carroll (vote with Dr Miller).

There were no additions to the agenda and the agenda was moved approved by Dr. Schiffer, seconded by Dr. Lupin.

There were no corrections/revisions to the minutes of 2018 noted, and the minutes were moved approved by Dr. Delorenzi, seconded by Dr. Lemckert.

Business arising from the minutes 2018 AGM -A category for Resident membership was added to the new membership page and we will promote this in future mailings to residents. Dr. Berbari d id respond to IMCAS on the request for a CLASS affiliation but this was never follow up on by IMCAS.

President's report – Dr.Berbari – CLASS participated in a joint conference call with CDA, CSAPS, CSPS and Canadian Academy of facial plastic surgery re: nurse injectors and Shoppers Drug Mart Clinics. CDA was to take the lead and craft a letter/ position statement and send out for group editing – No follow up received as yet.

Of concern, Dr. Weinberg reported that AMNI aesthetic medical network Inc. has agreed to fund a white paper to Health Canada to address the issue of Health Canada enforcing physicians to remove brand drug names or products on web sites or social media. The main defensive position is that the information is educational and not advertising. It was suggested that all the specialty Societies could join forces and hire a lawyer to challenge this at the Supreme court level however this would likely be extremely costly and the White Paper seems the most reasonable approach. Individuals may want to support and can contact Dr Weinberg directly. Dr. Ron Lemckert volunteered his immediate support to the group.

We had another Laser Safety Officer Course in March this year in Montreal with Dr. Bargman that was well attended (22). The executive agreed that CLASS should continue these courses annually as a benefit to CLASS members. We will contact Dr. Bargman to see if he is agreeable to run the course in Toronto early next year.

VP / Secretary's Report – Dr. Sapra presented the following applications for new full (Charter) membership:

Dr. Amanda FanousSponsors:Dr. Patricia BerbariOtolaryngologist, MontrealDr. Nabil Fanous

Dr. Jonathan Shapiro Sponsors: Dr. Faisal Al Mohammedi

Dermatologist, Toronto Dr. Martie Gidon

Dr. Philip SolomonSponsors:Dr. Lisa KellettOtolaryngologist, TorontoDr. Peter Adamson

Dr. Mary Lou BaxterSponsors:Dr. Rob MillerDermatologist, DartmouthDr. Chris Gallant

Dr. Chris GallantSponsors:Dr. Rob MillerDermatologist, DartmouthDr. Mary Lou Baxter

The list of candidate members was circulated to the membership prior to the meeting and no objections received. It was moved by Dr. Delorenzi and seconded by Dr. Dansereau that all applicants be affirmed.

All in favour. Carried.

Treasurer's Report - Dr. Weinberg The 2018 year end financial statements were circulated and showed Net Assets at end of 2018 were 114,000.00. The Statement of income and expenses showed \$14,000 profit. Our current Bank balance at Sept. 30 was 125,412 and our estimated balance for end of December 2019 will be approximately \$90,000.00.

Motion to accept treasurer's report by Dr. DeLorenzi, seconded by Dr. Mosher. All in favour. Carried. Motion to reappoint accountant Cameron Keller for CLASS by Dr. Lemckert, seconded by Dr. Gidon. All in favour. Carried.

Public Relations- Dr DeLorenzi There were no issues to report

Dr. Weinberg presented the current slate for the **New Executive for 2020:**

President: Dr. Sheetal Sapra
Treasurer: Dr. Patricia Berbari
Communications: Dr. Claudio Delorenzi

The positions of Vice-President, Secretary and Asst. Secretary/historian are currently vacant. Nominations from the floor were invited.

Dr. Gidon nominated Dr. Rahul Shukla for position of Vice President, seconded by Dr. Delorenzi.

Dr. Patricia Berbari nominated Dr. Amanda Fanous for position of Secretary, seconded by Dr. Lemckert.

Dr. Gidon nominated Dr. Jonathan Shapero for position of Assistant Secretary/Historian, seconded by Dr. Delorenzi. All in favour. Carried.

New Business: The 2020 Annual Symposium will be in Montreal at the Ritz Carlton Saturday, November 14^{th.} We will work to expand the program next year to include a Friday evening satellite session. Dr. Sapra will work to a more aesthetic/laser focused program for next year.

Dr. Sapra addressed the issue of expanding the CLASS membership to include general practitioners. The landscape of aesthetic medicine has changed significantly since the inception of CLASS over 20 years ago.

There is now a large and growing number of highly trained GP's who limit their practice to aesthetic medicine and should be welcomed into the group. They would be subject to the same current screening and application process. Changing the current membership criteria to include non Fellows would require a change in the Bylaws and a majority vote by the members. Dr. Sapra stressed that expansion of the membership criteria is critical to the future growth of CLASS and keep it on the leading edge of aesthetic and laser medicine. Only office staff and nurses associated with registered physicians will be permitted to attend CLASS meetings (no independent nurse practitioners/injectors). As the meeting grows, we may need to consider multiple venues/rooms to address various topics, i.e. injectables, lasers, practice management, etc.

It was moved by Dr. Lemckert, and seconded by Dr. Delorenzi that the membership criteria be opened up to include general practitioners. The proposed amendment to the membership bylaw will be circulated to all CLASS members for voting.

There was no further business to discuss and the meeting moved adjourned by Dr. Berbari, seconded by Dr. Weinberg.